Username Password Register


The purpose of the Section on Communication and Information Technologies is to support, enhance and promote research, teaching and other professional activities related to:

  • The social aspects of computing, the Internet, new media, computer networks, and other communication and information technologies.
  • The Sociology of Communications.
  • The design and use of technology in teaching and research.


The Section officers shall be a Chairperson, a Chairperson Elect, a Secretary-Treasurer and a Communications Coordinator, who is appointed by Council.  Council consists of these four officers, the Past-Chairperson, four members elected at large, and one student member appointed by council. 

The terms of all elected officers and Council members shall be for two years each with the exception of the Chairperson-Elect, Chairperson, and Past-Chairperson who will serve for one year each. Two Council members-at-large will be elected annually. The terms of appointed Council members shall be for one year.

In the event of a vacancy in an office, a Council membership, or a committee membership, the Chairperson shall make an interim appointment to serve until a replacement is elected in the next annual election.

The Council is vested in principle with the power to carry out all necessary operations for the Section.  Any action of the Section, including changes of the By-laws, may be brought to the vote of the Section by the Council, by a petition of l0 percent of the members of the Section or by twenty-five members of the Section, whichever is less.  The Chairperson will serve as chair of the Council.


Standing committees shall be established annually for five areas: communications, awards, nominations, program, and membership. Other committees may be appointed by the Chairperson with the approval of the Council on an ad hoc basis. 

Communications Committee. The purpose of the Communications Committee is to coordinate and assist in the preparation and operation of a section web site, email discussion list for members, and other means of communication and information sharing as directed by the Section Council. The committee is chaired by the Section Communications Coordinator.

Awards Committee. The Awards Committee each year shall coordinate nominations and publicity for awards as defined by Section Council. The committee is chaired by the Section Chairperson and is comprised of sub-committee chairs for each award. Sub-committee chairs are appointed by the Section Chairperson. Each sub-committee will have a minimum of three members, including the sub-committee chair, and will serve as a jury for one award.

Nominations Committee.  The Nominatiions Committee each year shall nominate and coordinate the election of Section officers and Council members-at-large.  At least two candidates will be presented for each vacancy.  Members of the nominating committee shall not nominate themselves. The committee is chaired by the the Section Chairperson-Elect.

Program Committee.  The Program Committee shall be charged with organizing the section program for the annual meetings of the American Sociological Association (ASA) and other sessions, e.g., panels workshops development seminars, as needed. The committee is chared by the Section Chairperson and is comprised of the two most recently elected section council members-at-large and any other Section members as appointed by the Section Chairperson.

Membership Committee.  The purpose of the Membership Committee is to seek and encourage new Section membership and to advise the Section Chairperson on ways to meet the needs and expectations of the current membership. The committee is chaired by the Past-Chairperson of the Section.


The elections of the Section shall be carried out in accordance with the American Sociological Association (ASA) guidelines and coordinated with the schedule of the ASA.  Newly elected officers and Council members shall assume office immediately after the adjournment of the Business Meeting of the Section at the Annual Meeting of the ASA.  When there are more than two candidates for a position, the candidates(s) with the largest number of votes shall be elected.  Otherwise, a simple majority of the members voting will determine the outcome of all elections of officers, Council members, committee members, referenda, and bylaw revisions.


Membership in the Section is open to all members of the American Sociological Association (ASA).  Section officers and Council members shall be drawn from members of the Section who are ASA members with voting privileges. The majority of members on each Section committee shall be drawn from the membership of the Section who are ASA members with voting privileges.


Dues shall be set by Section Council to cover the operation of the Section in accord with the requirements of the American Sociological Association (ASA).  In addition, with the approval of Section Council, members of the Section shall be assessed as necessary to carry out any program or activities undertaken by the Section, to the limits established by ASA.


Bylaws originally approved January 1989;

Name changed from “Microcomputing” to "Sociology and Computers" in 1995;

Name changed from “Sociology and Computers” to “Communication and Information Technologies” in 2002;

Bylaws updated in 2008.